Planas’ album “The Long Game” out Monday 26th of November.

Planas’ album “The Long Game” out Monday 26th of November.

Artist: Planas

Album: ‘The Long Game’

November 26th on Exceptional Blue records


The verdict so far:

  • “I can’t really fault this record” DJ magazine, 9/10 dubstep track of the month
  • “As sophisticated as dubstep gets, yet still delivering real intensity” Mixmag, 4/5
  • “Absolutely stunning!Tom Middleton
  • “Proper nice” El-B
  • “Amazingly beautiful” Mary Anne Hobbs
  • “Planas has been cranking up momentum recently with a string of sublime releases. We’re really looking forward to future output from this talented chapHyponik


On November 26th 2012 Exceptional Blue records present Planas’ eagerly awaited debut album ‘The Long Game’.

With a high-end list of production, writing and remix credits to Planas’ name, it’s little surprise that ‘The Long Game’ is superior musically, in dancefloor clout, broad sonic palate, spacious mix and proper low-end weight .

Planas’ music has won DJ support from DJ Q,  Martyn, Appleblim, Pearson Sound, Alix Perez, the Brookes Brothers, Shogun Audio, Huxley, Mary Anne Hobbs, Gilles Peterson, Don Letts, Ronnie Herel, Mr Scruff, DJ Nonames (Foreign Beggars), Tayo, Ross Allen and True Tiger.

‘Breathtaking’, which is adorned with the dulcet vocal tones of Ed Thomas is a sublime piece of bass music, and the superfly ‘Wasabi Thunder’ melds sparking cosmic p funk to dubstep, with devastating effect.

‘Cry Wolf’ is epic, high-drama vocal dubstep which features Joe Lean, and also featuring Ed Thomas is the timeless British urban melancholy of ‘Rain on Me’.

The acid-coloured, stretchy analogue b-line on ‘Better Days’ is a prime example of Planas’ skill at twisting fresh and unique sounds from of his machines.

Featuring the sumptuous vocal tones of Claudia Georgette, ‘Merry Go Round’ doffs it’s cap to Erykah Badu, Platinum Pied Pipers and Spacek, with stunning results.

‘2 little 2 late’ channels the spirit of classic MJ Cole and brings it bang-up-to date, whilst the Moodyman-esque spaceage thump of ‘Petroleum’ slows the tempo, but loses no impact.

‘Underneath’ is a collaboration between Planas and vocalist Dandelion, with Gentleman’s Dub Club providing the riddim, on a heartfelt steppers anthem. The album closes on ‘Mr Litvinenko’, which is as nasty and dangerous as the subject matter it refers to.


©2017 Outlook Festival 2018 | Cookies